What Is Your Love Language?

How do you prefer to express love?

According to a popular theory by author and pastor Gary Chapman, there are five main categories of how we prefer to give and receive love. Based off of his bestselling 1992 book "The 5 Love Languages", each of us have a preferred love language. Coming to know your language as well as your partner's language, can help you navigate communication more effectively. It can also help ensure that each partner feels heard and appreciated. We all show our love differently, whether romantically or platonically. Recognizing how and when love is being communicated, can make us all more fluent in the languages of love.

The 5 Love Languages:

  • Words Of Affirmation

  • Acts Of Service

  • Gifts

  • Physical Touch

  • Quality Time

Read on to learn more about each love language.

Words Of Affirmation

  • In this love language- words matter.

  • Compliments, encouragement, and verbal expression of feelings will go a long way if this is the dominant love language of you or a partner.

  • Tip: Try little love notes or thoughtful texts out of the blue.

Acts Of Service

  • When “Let me do that for you” and “I’ll help” are the most desirable phrases on earth.

  • These involve functional yet thoughtful assists to help ease the burden of you or your loved one.

  • Try: Offering to help with chores around the house or running errands.


  • This love language is not about materialism. It’s about the thoughtfulness and effort of the sentiment there within.

  • Here, heartfelt gifts are symbols and gestures of love.

  • Try: Finding an inexpensive gift that represents how you notice the little things about your partner.

Physical Touch

  • Not surprisingly, this means being quite "touchy”. Think hugs, hand-holding, touches on the arm and the like.

  • For this love language, appropriate and timely touches communicate warmth, safety, and love.

  • Try: Offering a massage while watching a movie or grab a hand while walking along-side your partner.

Quality Time

  • Here, nothing says “I love you” like full, undivided attention.

  • Active listening, eye contact, and putting the device aside will make a happy partner

  • Try: Practicing active listening and ask questions to show you're invested in what your partner is saying.

If you want to learn more, or take the quiz to find out for yourself, visit 5lovelanguages.com

 ●  0 min  ● Written by
Sign up for our NewsletterJoin to get the Haskill Newsletter and be the first to learn about new products, events, and other goings-on at Haskill Creek Farms.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration; and, the products mentioned on this website are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
© Copyright 2022 Haskill Creek Farms, LLC
Illustrations created by Macrovector